About Us

As committed members of the cultural and academic communities, we see ourselves as part of a rich and plural heritage. In our own times, our dream is to build on this heritage for a more just, egalitarian and humane society.

We aspire to perceive, understand and celebrate difference even while breaking down the barriers created by caste, class, religion, race and language.

But we are painfully aware of the ways in which our culture has been challenged in recent times. It is critical, at the present juncture, to resist the range of threats faced by our culture of free expression, exchange, dialogue and debate. It is crucial that we fight for ourselves, and all citizens, as those who create and partake of India’s multiple cultures and sub-cultures.

Whatever language, genre and medium we create in, we insist on our right to use our imagination freely to produce what we see as meaningful for our times; and to speak and debate without hindrance, both to each other and to our readers and audience. This includes our right to interpret and reinterpret the past, and our common legacy of contesting narratives, whether in the form of myth, legend, lore or tale.

The Indian Writers Forum Trust has been set up to allow a range of fora – the Indian Cultural Forum site, public meetings, seminars, facebook feeds, and an e-journal of culture called Guftugu – to discuss issues of concern to writers, educators and cultural practitioners, and offer support to individuals in the cultural and academic fraternities.

Support the Indian Writers Forum by supporting the Indian Cultural Forum and Guftugu. Email us at indianwritersforum@gmail.com for more information on how you can help.

Githa Hariharan
K. Satchidanandan

Advisory Panel
Chandrakant Patil
Ganesh Devy
Nandini Sundar
Nayantara Sahgal
Paul Zacharia
Pushpamala N
Sambhaji Bhagat
Samik Bandyopadhyay
Satyajit Rath
T.M. Krishna

Daniya Rahman

The Indian Writers Forum is a public charitable trust registered with Certificate number IN-DL27840950207873N dated 20/07/2015 under Article 64. The new provisional registration number is AABTI2390GE20214 dated 28-05-2021.

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Create New Account!

Fill the forms bellow to register

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.